"Miss Martha, you are so weird!" "I know . . . isn't it wonderful!?"

So.

I finally went to a dermatologist yesterday.  I had a full-body check done, and “the thing” on my face biopsied.  Of all the moles and things on my body that I thought were great cause for concern and tracking, only two little things were photographed.  The white spot above my upper lip that lacks pigmentation, and the mole on the bottom of my foot that matches the one my mother has.  I never really considered either of these two things to be “issues.”  Oh well.

But, the real reason that I went, seemed to give the doctor pause as well.  To his GREAT credit, he suggested NOTHING as to what it “could be.”  Wow.  He just said that he’d let me know the results in about a week, and if it’s nothing, he’ll see me again in 6 to 9 months.

I am relieved to finally have taken some action about this spot, that could be nothing at all, something horrible, or something in between.  In any event, I have now shifted from pondering and worrying into action.

Now, it’s time to do that with all of the other problems and obstacles in my life.

I’m going to start taking Ken’s Aunt Barbara walking.  Forcing both of us to take action about our health.  Motivating her will motivate me.  Perhaps hearing my own advice out loud will force me to “hear” it, too.  I told her that I was “going to fix her” because it’s all a matter of mind-set.  If you decide you’re sick and dying, you will.  If you decide you can’t, you can’t.  If you give up, you’re dead.

 

March on.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

